College and University Trustee Screening Commission

Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price



213 Gressette Building
P.O. Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 212-6430

Email: SEduComm@scsenate.gov

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Sylleste Davis Representative Gary E. Clary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 8, 2019

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission has received completed applications from the candidates listed below. The Commission will hold screening hearings for these candidates in late March 2019. The election date will be determined by the General Assembly.

The Citadel

One (1) at-large seat

- term expires June 30, 2025

Coastal Carolina University

1st Congressional District - seat 1

- term expires June 30, 2023

3rd Congressional District - seat 3

- term expires June 30, 2023

5th Congressional District - seat 5

- term expires June 30, 2023

7th Congressional District - seat 7

- term expires June 30, 2023

At-large - seat 9

- term expires June 30, 2023

At-large - seat 11

- term expires June 30, 2023

At-large - seat 13

- term expires June 30, 2023

- L. Eugene Pinson, Greenwood

- George E. Mullen, Hilton Head Island

- William S. Biggs, Salem

- Charles E. Lewis, Gaffney

- Natasha M. Hanna, Conway

- Eugene C. Spivey, Myrtle Beach

- William E. Turner, III, Simpsonville

- Lee A. Belcher, Lexington

Medical University of South Carolina 4th Congressional District - medical seat

- term expires June 30, 2020

- H. Frederick Butehorn, III, Spartanburg

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

Three (3) at-large seats

- terms expire June 30, 2023

- Deborah S. Blalock, Charleston
- Robert N. Collar, Bluffton
- Dan A. Dobson, Myrtle Beach

-XX-